Varun’s World

Enter My Mind Here!

Mathematics [21.03.2009]

So, the final exam was here! This would end my Boards Exams, and I was most worried about this one. For a change, I had done all the questions in the book before the exam and my confidence grew. I knew I had to get this exam straight or else I’d be doomed!

So, I decided to attempt the question paper from the last question, ending up at the first. Everytime, I would do it the other way and then miss out on the 6 mark questions as time would run out. So, I started with the 6 markers first. There are 7 of them. I did 6 of the correct and did half of the 7th. Should do fine though, it was more than what I expected in the 6 marks’ section. Then came the 4 markers! Arrgh! I always screw these up! There are twelve 4 markers in the maths exam, and I did around 8 of them correctly. The rest of them , I solved as much as I could and left the rest. So I would be losing around 10 marks there! Crap!

Then came the short answers, the 1 mark questions. I did all of them correctly. That was important, as they are the most scoring and at school I never got more than 5 of them correct. So, when I made a final assesment, I guess I should be getting 80-85 in this one. So, the final exam was bad. But considering it was Maths, I can say that this was a great improvement over the 36 marks out of 100 I managed in my pre-boards exams! Haha!

So, the boards are now finally over, and its time for a little fun. But then I have my engineering entrance exams lined up in April, starting from the 9th. I have to prepare for them too. For around a week, I’ll spend the time watching movies, hanging out with friends, listening to songs and all. After that, I’ve got to get back to studying.

So, for now thats it. I’m enjoying my (temporary) freedom. Catch you people later. Cheers!

March 23, 2009 Posted by | General | , , | Leave a comment

Economics [17.03.2009]

So after English, I had my Economics paper on the 17th. This was one subject I was confident about.  I had done all the preparations early and revised it thoroughly before the exam.

I reached the hall early again and talked to my friends. Everyone was relaxed about this one, Eco was supposed to be easy. And so it was. The question paper had mostly basic questions, a few required Higher Order Thinking Skills (or HOTS, as they call it), but it was easy. Eco has two parts, Macroeconomics and Microeconomics, each carrying a weightage of 50 marks.

I did the Micro-eco part flawlessly. Every answer was textbook like. I don’t think I should lose marks there. In the Macro part, all was going fine till the last questions. Messed up a bit in the 6 marks’ question, though I would only lose a couple of marks there. Then there was a 2 marks’ question related to debentures. Now, as a non-medical student with economics as optional, I didn’t know what a debenture even meant. Later I found out, that the Commerce students have a lot of topics on debentures in their subject, Business Studies. To cut a long story short, I got that answer wrong too. I’d lose a couple of more marks here and there but the rest was good.

A few friends of mine said that in Economics, the the teacher who marks the answer sheets never gives full marks for most of the answers. So, if that’s the case, I fear I might end up at around 80-85. But some other friends said that it isn’t so, and if it is so, I am expecting 90+.

So, the next exam was Maths on the 21st and got down to studying it almost as soon as I got home from Eco, as this was one subject that bugs me a lot! So, read my next post for details about the Maths exam!

March 23, 2009 Posted by | General | , , | Leave a comment