Varun’s World

Enter My Mind Here!

Economics [17.03.2009]

So after English, I had my Economics paper on the 17th. This was one subject I was confident about.  I had done all the preparations early and revised it thoroughly before the exam.

I reached the hall early again and talked to my friends. Everyone was relaxed about this one, Eco was supposed to be easy. And so it was. The question paper had mostly basic questions, a few required Higher Order Thinking Skills (or HOTS, as they call it), but it was easy. Eco has two parts, Macroeconomics and Microeconomics, each carrying a weightage of 50 marks.

I did the Micro-eco part flawlessly. Every answer was textbook like. I don’t think I should lose marks there. In the Macro part, all was going fine till the last questions. Messed up a bit in the 6 marks’ question, though I would only lose a couple of marks there. Then there was a 2 marks’ question related to debentures. Now, as a non-medical student with economics as optional, I didn’t know what a debenture even meant. Later I found out, that the Commerce students have a lot of topics on debentures in their subject, Business Studies. To cut a long story short, I got that answer wrong too. I’d lose a couple of more marks here and there but the rest was good.

A few friends of mine said that in Economics, the the teacher who marks the answer sheets never gives full marks for most of the answers. So, if that’s the case, I fear I might end up at around 80-85. But some other friends said that it isn’t so, and if it is so, I am expecting 90+.

So, the next exam was Maths on the 21st and got down to studying it almost as soon as I got home from Eco, as this was one subject that bugs me a lot! So, read my next post for details about the Maths exam!

March 23, 2009 - Posted by | General | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

